July 11th, 2019

Sharing is caring!

Laois 1-13

Meath 0-7

Laois had nine points to spare over Meath in O’Moore Park to book their place in the Leinster U-20 football final against Dublin on July 19.

It will be the first time for Laois to contest a provincial final in the U-20/21 grade since they lost the 2009 decider to a Jim Gavin-managed Dublin outfit.

Boosted by the return of Sean O’Flynn and Mark Barry following the elimination of the county’s senior team in the All Ireland Qualifiers, a classy Laois side laid the foundations for their win in an impressive opening quarter.

A 10th minute goal from Alan Kinsella set the home side on their way as he took a pass from big full-forward Dan McCormack to finish smartly past Meath keeper Andrew Beakey.

Barry, Diarmuid Whelan, Colin Slevin and McCormack all added points and Laois led 1-8 to 0-3 at the break.

Laois continued to impress after the break and were 1-11 to 0-4 clear with 15 minutes still to play.

Meath battled on but the result was never in doubt and Laois easily advanced to the Leinster final.

Laois: Matthew Byron; Michael Dowling, Seamus Lacey, Alex Mohan; Colin Slevin (0-1), Sean O’Flynn, Dean Brophy; Robert Tyrell, Eoin Dunne; Ronan Coffey (0-2), Michael Doran (0-1), Mark Barry (0-4 (three frees)); Alan Kinsella (1-1), Dan McCormack (0-1), Diarmuid Whelan (0-2).

Subs: Jack Owens (0-1) for Doran (41), Niall Dunne for Tyrell (45), Jason Maher for McCormack (51), Mikie Dempsey for Coffey (53, inj), Kevin Byrne for Brophy (61), Bernard Wheatleyfor Barry

Meath: Andrew Beakey; Sean Ryan, Robbie Clarke, Cathal Hickey; Eoin Harkin, John Keane, Oisin Martyn; Liam Byrne, Cian McBride; Matthew Costello (0-1), Cian Swaine, Daithi McGowan (0-1,f); Jordan Morris (0-1), Connell Ahearne, Luke Mitchell (0-2, 2f).

Subs: Sean Bannon for Clarke (21, black card), Aaron Lynch (0-2) for McBride, Danny Dixon for Swaine and Cathal Finnegan for Mitchell (all ht), Luke Kelly for Martin (41), Conor Frayne for Costello (53, inj)

Referee: Patrick Maguire (Longford)