Senior Footballers exit O'Byrne Cup despite draw 2017-01-14 21:48:00

Bord Na Mona O'Byrne Cup

Laois 1-16 Meath 2-13

Laois and Meath divided the Bord Na Mona O'Byrne Cup spoils as Andy McEntee's team advanced to the knockout stages due to a superior scoring difference.

Both teams registered comfortable wins over Wicklow and DIT, but this was a much more demanding encounter.

Ultimately a Kevin Ross penalty deep into injury time proved to be the vital score as it guided Meath ahead before Colm Begley landed a last gasp leveller for Laois.

The Royals, aided by an opportunistic Donal Lenihan goal, were in control early on establishing a 1-8 to 0-3 lead.

Laois improved considerably as the interval approached hitting seven of the next nine scores narrowing the half-time deficit to 1-10 to 0-10.

When the action recommenced Laois were back on level terms following a fine Donie Kingston goal.

Peter Creedon's charges moved ahead with Gary Walsh and Kingston nailing crucial points.

Further drama arrived in the dying moments as Meath hit the front again, but Begley rescued a draw for Laois.

Scorers for Laois: Donie Kingston 1-4 (1f), Gary Walsh 0-4 (2f), Sean Ramsbottom, Colm Begley 0-2 each, Kevin Meaney, Niall Donoher, Cormac Murphy, David Conway 0-1 each.

Scorers for Meath: Kevin Ross 1-3 (3f), Cillian O’Sullivan 1-1, Graham Reilly 0-3, Cian O’Brien 0-2, Bryan McMahon, Sean Tobin (f), Bobby O’Brien, Donal Lenihan (f) 0-1 each.


1. Graham Brody (Portlaoise)

2. Darren Strong (Emo)
3. Denis Booth (The Heath)
20. Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise)

5. Stephen Attride (Killeshin)
6. Alan Farrell (Ballylinan)
7. Colm Begley (Stradbally)

8. Kevin Meaney (Arles-Kilcruise)
9. John O’Loughlin (St Brigids)

10. Cormac Murphy (Crettyard)
11. Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
12. Gary Walsh (Ballylinan)

13. Ruairi O’Connor (Timahoe)
14. Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
15. Niall Donoher (Courtwood)


26. David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise) for O’Connor (19 mins, inj)
18. Sean Ramsbottom (Timahoe) for O’Loughlin (27 to 29, Blood Sub)
18. Sean Rasmbottom for Murphy (29)
17. Jamie Farrell (Ballylinan) for Ramsbottom (49, inj)
19. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise) for P Kingston (54)
21. Ciaran Lennon (Timahoe) for Meaney (58)
24. Shane Nurney (O’Dempsey’s) for Booth (60, inj)
25. Sean Moore (Ballyfin) for Walsh (63)
23. Danny Luttrell (Courtwood) for Donoher (67, Black Card)

CLUBS: Membership Online - New Service
Laois GAA Website by SportLomo